2013 Course Championship

This year’s course championships had beautiful weather throughout. It’s a rare treat to be able to play on this course on the weekend with only other serious minded tournament players. The second round course is a special long and difficult layout only seen one time per year in this event only. Although the cause of much wailing and gnashing of teeth the players swear they love the challenge of this unusually difficult layout. The third round on Sunday morning is just the opposite with each hole in its easiest layout position allowing for lots of movement potential with a hot round.

Round one went to Team Garcia. Angel shot a -12 to lead the Open division and Shonda shot a +3 to lead the Women’s group. Round two saw scores skyrocket with only 5 players, all Open division, capable of shooting under par. Micah Dorius now 14 time course champion shot an amazing -6 for a new course record on that particular layout.  Micah’s -12 in the 3rd round and -7 in the final 9 gave him a 6 stroke victory over 2013 course champion Carlo Pelg.

In the Am division Team Maki lead after round one. Son Jonathan shot a -6 and father John a -5. Jonathan still had the lead after round 2 but faltered in the final round to a surging Kenny Summers who shot -9 in the final round to take a 3 stroke victory.

Players in the tournament received a red dry tek tourney shirt with pizza and salad lunch on Saturday. Carved wooden trophies by George Spracklen are a tradition for this event. Randy Wylot won the Grandmaster trophy for best score by a 50+ year old. Randy shot a tourney best -13 in the final round. He actually tied with Jeff Nichols but won the trophy by virtue of his better 3rd round score. Micah now 40 also won the Masters plaque for 40+ year olds.  There was one ace in the tournament. Trey McKelvey aced hole 18 in the third round.

Open Division

1-Micah Dorius -36 $270

2-Carlo Pelg -30 $190

3- George Spraklen -25 $125

4-Angel Garcia -24 $100

5-Tyler Tremelling $90

6T- Trey McKelvey $75

6T- Garrett Tapken $75

8th-Luke Christensen $60

9T-Randy Wylot $57 split

9T-Jeff Nichols $57 split

Women’s Division

1-Shonda Garcia +18 $55 prize pkg.

2-Amber Ivy +24 $40 “ “

3- Allie Robles +26 $30 “ “

Amateur Division

1-Kenny Sommers -9 $150 prize pkg.

2-Chris Parker -6 $101 “ “

3-Jonathan Maki -5 $95 “ “

4-Carlos Caballero -4 $90 “ “

5-Tracy Crowder -3 $85 “ “

6T-Dave Dohr -2 $77.50 “ “

6T-Will Griffn -2 $77.50 “ “

8-Garrett Russell -1 $70 “ “

9-James Barnes +1 $65 “ “

10T-John Maki +3 $55.50 “ “

10T-Mike Valli +3 $55.50 “ “

10T-Eric Repp +3 $55.50 “ “

13T-Josh Hesser +7 $47 “ “

13T-Don Vincent +7 $47 “ “

15-Heath Weiss +8 $43 “ “

16-Chet Morse +9 $40 “ “

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

%d bloggers like this: